Beaumont Foundation Announces 2015 Excellence In Education Recipients

Beaumont, TX  — The Beaumont Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Excellence in Education Awards as part of its ongoing commitment to support education. The Awards were created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning. The program provides public recognition and financial rewards to educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education. Each award winner will receive $10,000 and be recognized at an awards gala in May.

Recipients were selected from an impressive collection of nominations submitted by schools throughout Southeast Texas, East Texas and Lubbock County, Texas. Wayne A. Reaud, Chairman of Board, stated, “Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education. Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.”

2015 Reaud Excellence in Education Recipients


John F. Williams, Sr., Blanchette Elementary, Beaumont ISD
Tamra A. Smith, Highland Park Elementary, Nederland ISD
Cynthia F. Burton, Orangefield Elementary, Orangefield ISD
Tara R. Robinson, China Elementary, Hardin-Jefferson ISD
Susan Wright, Jean C. Few Primary School, Jasper ISD

Middle School:

Jacob B. Jett, Marshall Middle School, Beaumont ISD
Leslie A. Broussard, Central Middle School, Nederland ISD
Cherry M. Lemire, Vidor Junior High School, Vidor ISD
Daphne T. McIntire, St. Mary Catholic School/Orange, Diocese of Beaumont
Jason Drake, Woodville Middle School, Woodville ISD

High School: 

Mia LaBove-Thomas, Ozen Magnet High School, Beaumont ISD
Dr. Natalie Christine Tuck Bonner, Memorial High School, Port Arthur ISD
Meri Elen Jacobs, West Orange-Stark High School, West Orange-Cove CISD
Christi S. Thomas, Hardin-Jefferson High School, Hardin-Jefferson ISD
Judith L. Posey, Lumberton High School, Lumberton ISD

2015 Newton Excellence in Education Recipients


Kendra S. Andersen, Roscoe Wilson Elementary, Lubbock ISD
Laura L. Buchanan, Westwind Elementary, Frenship ISD

Middle School:

Joshua D. Allen, Margaret Talkington School for Young Women Leaders, Lubbock ISD
Kevann L. Moseley, Laura Bush Middle School, Lubbock-Cooper ISD

High School:

Jonathan Whitfill, Estacado High School, Lubbock ISD
Shawna M. Haynie, Shallowater High School, Shallowater ISD

2015 Gilbert I. “Buddy” Low Excellence in Education Recipients

Carol Burton, Anderson Elementary, Lufkin ISD

Deborah A. Ener, Hemphill Middle School, Hemphill ISD

Sherri H. Eddings, Hemphill High School, Hemphill ISD


Return to News Overview